Council Members

Home Council Members

The Minister of Human Settlements is responsible for the appointment of NHBRC Council members, in terms of Section 4 of the Housing Consumers Protection Measures Act (1998). Members are appointed for a period of three years in office. The current Council consists of the following members, whose term of office commenced on 01 August 2015 and expires on 30 April 2018.

The role of the Council in this regard is to ensure that it pursues its mandate of consistently complying with all the relevant governance requirements. These requirements stem from the Protocol on Governance in the Public Sector, the King Code of Practice as applied in the public sector, the HCPMA, the Public Finance Management Act, 1999 (Act No. 1 of 1999) and other relevant legislation.

The NHBRC Council also operates in terms of a Charter that has been developed in consultation with the Minister of Human Settlements. The Charter makes provision for the roles and responsibilities of Council as the accountable authority under the PFMA, 1999 vis-à-vis the roles and responsibilities of management.

This Charter is also supported by the NHBRC’s Delegation of Authority Policy in terms of which Council has delegated some of its functions and decisions to Committees and Management to ensure that business operations do not get hampered by any delays in decision making.

The Council is empowered to establish committees and to delegate some of its functions to these Sub-Committees and to the CEO, in terms of Section 5 of the Act. The delegation of functions to Committees is done under established Terms of Reference for each committee. These committees report to Council on their activities on a quarterly basis.
Council has established the following committees to ensure effective governance in the NHBRC business.

• Audit and Risk Management Committee
• Bid Adjudication Committee;
• Fund Advisory and Finance Committee;
• Human Capital and Remuneration Committee;
• Industry Advisory Committee;
• Registrations Committee;
• Social & Ethics Committee;
• Social Transformation Committee; and
• Technical Research and Advisory Committee